No Hero

Pitch black night
unilluminated
except one shaft 
that hit the stones
that I tread upon
from the otherwise
moonless and starless sky
 a window above
shadowy figures behind curtains
back and forth
and a curdling scream 
like milk gone sour
nightmares are made 
heinous crime in silence black
no one stirs
gets involved
certainly not I
I stand and watch and wait
what iniquitous deed took place
what tragedy
for screams to echo
what unlawful felony
scream in the dead of this night
to not awaken the hero in me
silence falls the curtains
motionless
the figure now alien from
the prey
no hero am I
walk silently by

 

ramblingsfromamum 28.12.2012

12 thoughts on “No Hero

  1. Hmmm…this one’s a little on the darker side. I like it. It makes me a little sad, but only because I think you’ve hit upon a truth.

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.