Unfaithful

I’m sure if I stared hard enough
passed Klein pin stripes
and ironed shirt
buttons peeled, the tie removed
a part – minute
infinitesimal in fact
gives a damn, some remorse
you were a cat on heat
you strayed

I
shudder

insignificant mumblings
spilled from a soiled mouth
that has been plunged
by her tongue
spitting out apologies
her lips not sweet as mine
gullible me
you hoped

I
laugh

in your chest
chambers, ventricles
the muscle
pumping blood maintains
a continuous beat
allows you to draw breath
together with wetted
lungs, yet your
emotions had run dry
for us

I
wonder

was there a forever after
as we walked hand in hand
‘I love you’ thrown my way
to satiate my insecurity
but you required more
lust over love, afternoon delights
of tasting
a different skin – a different salt
tired of the old – in with the new

I
cringe

take your pathetic and your
meaningless excuses
of a night
where booze imprisoned
your thoughts of me
unrealistic expectations
what you thought you needed
as you rode high on this harlot
of your dreams
it was only the once…?

 

goodbye


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Purely Fiction!

19 thoughts on “Unfaithful

  1. That opening stanza is so telling especially ‘a part – minute/ infinitesimal in fact/ gives a damn’. Very strong writing describing a strong narrator.

  2. whew, glad it said purely fiction… i was a tad worried.
    “a different skin – a different salt
    tired of the old – in with the new”
    awesome lines…

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

