Caged

tumblr_mimmucoe8c1r202vco1_500

you are trapped within
this wrought iron cage
not gilded, movements
stalking animal
wary, cautious
cannot turn
can I buy the key
does anyone have the key
unlock the padlock
let you find the light
return to who I knew

the torrent of your thoughts
twisting within your head
calm to manic – seconds
I don’t know if I can
my arms not long enough
to reach – placate
management not decisive
I run out of strength

the wheels rolled
your anger matched
journey we traveled
too much to bare
I stopped the car
returning home you
angry as before
where do I find the key
or give you strength
to bend the bars

copyright JMTacken 15.4.2014

36 thoughts on “Caged

  1. so painful and hard and no easy way to open the bars and return to the way it all once was. i can feel the hurt and the pain in these words, jen. hugs )

  2. Jen, I am reaching through this virtual space and hugging you right now. I wish I could make things brighter, better, smoother for all. You know where I am if you need to talk. <3

    • Thank you sweety, I know you are there and I cherish you and all who support me. Life is a bit of a whirlwind right now, her issues, home life, working. She is better today, so I can only try and keep things on an even keel as much as possible. Hugs and love xx

  3. To reach to a level where you are held by a support who breathes encouragements into your ears… makes it less hard to search for those keys. They may be found much late and they matter… but not more than the one holding you up.
    No one wants to be in that dark cell… and that is the only understanding one needs.
    Your words made me think… made me remember and feel… powerful and thought-provoking. :-)

    • Thank you for the wonderful way you explained your feelings on this anmol. We have a battle to fight and a long road ahead, before happiness is completely hers, but I hope she makes it to the end soon. Hope you’re ok and appreciate you reading.

  4. So sorry that this happened to you. I know you tried, you really did! I can feel your energy and love pouring out of this, along with the equally painful realization that you cannot keep up the exhaustive job of helping and fixing… possibly? And the other one, daughter, needs to find her way back to you. You deserve so much more than this ‘battle.’ Hope the key is somehow coming to your relationship… Smiles, Robin

    • Thank you so very much for understanding. She is in therapy, group and one on one, she has only begun , but there are small signs of improvement in some areas. It’s just been quite tough on and off for quite a few years and sometimes the simmering pot boils over…hers and mine. Appreciate your kindness Robin – thank you x

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

