Over 50? – Part 3

“You’re finally kid-free. For some people, that is very sad. But I don’t know a single person who didn’t come around to look at all my free time. I can totally take art classes; I’m not tied to running the kids everywhere!

I can relish all the ‘free time’ and have time to do things that I thought I couldn’t do before; however coming to understand what I think I may have missed out on is the hard part. l still miss having my eldest daughter at home.

You recognise that talent does not know age. You learn the value of taking risks, pushing your personal comfort level, reinventing yourself. Talent lies within us at any age be it five or fifty however I don’t think I’ll be bungee jumping any time soon!

  “Your sense of personal style comes together. After decades of experimenting, you learn what feels comfortable, what looks dazzling”.

Totally agree I know what suits me and what doesn’t. I only wish that clothes designers and manufacturers would cater for the ‘young at heart’ older woman. Our choices are extremely limited (if not totally ‘daggy’) in our age bracket- though please remember the stretchy flowing garments. I am in love with Metalicus!

“If a woman over 50 doesn’t want to sit and watch football with her other half she doesn’t sit around whining about it. She does something she wants to do. And, it’s usually something more interesting”.

Looking back at my youth I may have done what I thought ‘necessary’ to please my partner and if that meant watching the football so be it, when in fact I dreaded it. Now I do what I want, when l want without feeling guilty.

“You really have learned who you are as a person, what your likes and dislikes are. It makes life ever so much more pleasant and joyful and simpler when you know. The downside is, it makes it hard to find people to date because you’re so much more selective”.

I am still learning who l am (though l have a fairly good idea) and l certainly know my likes and dislikes. One can feel courageous reaching this point in life knowing that you have acquired the power to now do and say as you please. Would I be fussier if I was single again? Perhaps. It may be looked upon as being too choosy, that as I have grown older I should be grateful for what ever comes along, but I know what I want in a partner, and feel that I shouldn’t have to settle for anything less.

 “We have lived half a life time and are more aware. Now you’re looking for your purpose in life, looking for work you love to do”.

At the age of fifty seven my working years are more than ever drawing to a close halleluiah, I am in a position that for the time being I am content knowing that, though my Super could be a lot more healthy than it is. There is not that need to ‘impress’ as much as there was when I was younger. l can retread my footsteps as it were, through the years l have lived, to see if my life had meaning and purpose. I would imagine that if one lingers on that for too long however, knowing that there may have been goals that haven’t been achieved could end up quite depressing.

“She knows the value of mentoring. There are younger women out there who want role models. A woman over 50 has wisdom to offer”.

Agreed, I have people whom are younger than I that ask advise from me or happy to listen to my views, especially if they are troubled. I feel privileged and honoured knowing that I can impart some of the wisdom that I have obtained over my years.

 

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

