It seems so – Mother to her child

Have I forgotten the first signs of you wanting to come into this world

It seems so

Have I forgotten the pain that racked through my body as you circled and moved within me

It seems so

Have I forgotten screaming in agony and wishing you would appear

It seems so

Have I forgotten the stitches and the burning when I stepped into those salt baths

It seems so

Have I forgotten day four or five when my hormones surged and I felt that I could do nothing right

It seems so

Have I forgotten the swelling of my breasts when my milk came in and the hot shower that brought relief

It seems so

Have I forgotten the inadequacies I felt when I couldn’t bring up your wind after a feed and thought ‘I can’t do this’

It seems so

Have I forgotten the fear I felt when you slept by my side in the hospital and didn’t wake for me

It seems so

Have I forgotten bathing you for first time trying to console myself that I wouldn’t accidentally let you slip

It seems so – but

Have I forgotten the moment they laid you on my bare skin – it seems not

Have I forgotten looking at you in absolute awe of your beauty – it seems not

Have I forgotten holding your tiny hands in mine and counting your fingers and toes – it seems not

Have I forgotten brushing my cheek upon yours with my tears flowing – it seems not

Have I forgotten that from that day forward my role was to protect you and keep you from harm – it seems not

Have I forgotten watching you suckle as you grasped your tiny fingers around my seemingly cumbersome ones and drifted off to sleep – how could I

Have I forgotten that I realised how lucky I was to have gone through the miracle of birth and to have two beautiful daughters because of it – how could I

Have I forgotten taking you for your first inoculation and wanting the pain to be mine and not yours – how could I

Have I forgotten with every day that passes how much my love for both of you grow and how proud I am of both of you – Never

To my girls – I love you

xxxx

16 thoughts on “It seems so – Mother to her child

  1. The things you have not forgotten … neither have I.

    Some things … they will live forever in our memories … thank you. I need to let those types of memories beat back the other types…

      • Aye …that I do … memories. But I do not hold the market on such things. One needs to pick themselves up. (I can say that now … if you asked me yesterday the question would have been left unanswered.)

        Again though …thoughts about the good things always help …so yah.

  2. I love this one. We mothers always seem to forget the pain but not the good stuff the real important things, the things that should and do matter and I think that you captured it here. Wonderful writing and thank you for sharing it with the world.

    • Thank you so much Julie for your kind words, yes I found myself in somewhat of a ‘melancholy’ yesterday – my writing depends solely on my mood at the time (as with all writers I think). Appreciate your kindness.

      • Yes I find myself in the same way today. My little birdie is flying the nest too. In fact in less than two weeks. She just signed her first lease yesterday. You can read about it at faerymind.wordpress.com

      • It’s not that life has its battles, more that life is a battle which has it’s moments of peace. But this is ok, because we don’t learn and grow in times of peace.
        The battles can be so much harder because culturally we lie to ourselves about how inevitable they are – and then berate ourselves for not being ‘good enough’ to avoid them.
        Humans are silly.
        πŸ™‚

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

