I shall visit and lay fresh flowers down..Poetry of loss

I kneel upon blades of grass that are crisp and cold upon my skin

I wrap my arms around me tight & quiver against the wind

I lift my head to the dark sky above & shut my eyes tightly

And draw in a breath which makes my body shiver slightly

……….

The rain starts to fall & hits upon my cheek

I wipe the drops of cold & wet away

My brow rubbed with back of hand

I bend my head to pray

……….

I know that you aren’t with me

But I see you in my dreams

I beseech that you are peaceful

But my life is not as it seems

……….

You think after so long,that I am happy?

How can you possibly understand

You are the one who enriched my life 

Why can’t I hear your laughter or gently take your hand

……….

I long to hear your voice once more

Or to share your laugh & smile

I want to share these tears that fall

To say me living is worthwhile

……….

I shall visit & lay fresh flowers down

And shall talk & tell you of my day

And wish that you could answer me

I must pretend I can, let me have my way

……….

So for now I lay fresh flowers down

And reverie of what would have been

And caress & tend your grave each day

Inhale deep, with eyes shut tight & dream

……….

But wait I can see your beautiful smile I hear you speak my name 

I feel the ring you place upon my finger, a simple band of gold

To have & to hold from this day forward our love was ours to claim

To wed & live together young & then to die together old

……….

But for now I lay fresh flowers down

Courtesy Google/funeralsofcompassion.com

Courtesy Google/funeralsofcompassion.com

 

 

18 thoughts on “I shall visit and lay fresh flowers down..Poetry of loss

  1. Jaysus Mumsy ….I got to the part about the band of gold and I thought…wait…you never mentioned Mr S was sick…and I was omg nooooo … is he okay?!?!?!

    But I read other’s comments here and felt a RUSH of relief.

    It was a lovely poem…but omg it almost made my heart stop! Ack!

    • Darling I’m so sorry I scared you!

      The thunderstorm brought the melancholy thinker of poetry in me.
      Grabs a towel and waves it frantically in front of you and gives you water to drink!!
      🙂
      and thank you 🙂

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

