Mask of life

Feathers
open weave
sparkling
sequence
on a stick

that touches
my skin
hiding
covering
thoughts

Not wanting
nor willing to
show the world
who I
really am

shielded
protected from
outside world
who do not
know me
be myself

fronting with
a different
face
masquerade a
veneer of who I am

covering the
external me
to not display
the internal
vulnerable

it is permitted
to hide
behind the
shield
of my safe being

the question remains
is it safe
to emerge
relinquish
the open weave
that is the
protector
of myself

do not dwell on

reactions of others
do not be afraid
open myself to

possibilities
cast off my
fears
reveal myself
cease this
masquerade

5 thoughts on “Mask of life

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

