My new job – 1st day

Yes my 1st day at my new job…right back into the thick of it. Well, actually no I lie. I woke at 7am and then had 1.5hrs to kill (so of course instead of putting a load of washing on – I checked my emails – only 67 of them from WordPress)….Argh!!

Anywhoo I can see you all waiting with bated breath “So how did it go”?… wait…you aren’t?

Hmm.. ok I shall inform you nonetheless.

It went fine as far as ‘first days’ go. They didn’t throw me into the deep end to answer phones. I had training on glass frames and my lordy it is such a complicated process to make them (ie: don’t ever grizzle again about the cost of them) because some can take up to 8 months to make!.

I sat and ate lunch with the team, I picked some orders (we are talking glasses frames people) nothing that would do my back in…( yes I hear that sign of relief in all of you). The ladies and gentlemen that I met were all very friendly and pleasant. They have a radio on in the office to which (you will all be pleased to know) I abstained from doing karaoke versions of…that may come tomorrow.

I was introduced to John – saying he is the man who does our pays, up faster than a flash of lightening I rose from my chair. “Happy New Year John” shaking of hands and huge beam across my face.”Pleased to meet you”(Ok Jen let go of his hand he’s looking at you weird).

I was sucking up, that’s what you do on your 1st day isn’t it??? 🙂

All in all so far a good 1st day.

So how do you feel after your 1st day in a new job?
Do you come home thinking will I fit in? Is there more to this than meets the eye?
Are they really that nice? How do you know when you complete the day that you really want to return?

22 thoughts on “My new job – 1st day

  1. Sucking up discretely is definitely an advantage! 🙂 Hmmm not sure if first day counts! Kind of like first impressions isn’t always a winner! enjoy tomorrow and let us all know how day 2 goes! Then you may know if you want to return! 🙂 xxxxxx

  2. Happy it was a good day – Always get nervous myself, feel like I’ve got to prove myself immediately and know the whole job straight away! Six-months in I reach the ‘no-one knows WTF they’re doing’ realisation and know I am now part of the furniture 😉

    • Thank you and OMG – this is me Mr. P. I am a hard task master on myself. I MUST know all there is too learn within 2 weeks tops and am constantly frustrated and angry with myself if I don’t. Yes it just takes that day when the light bulb goes off and you can say “Seriously…this is how easy it is”! Thanks for the visit – missed ya grumpy face. 🙂

      • My grumpy face has to take 5! My poor little blog is dying! (stats down 70%) Too much time on IP! So I may be around a little less as I attempt the Kiss of Life 😯

    • 4 months is almost a re-think – “Do I really want to go back to work”. I know I would feel that way..yes it will be a strange feeling and I hope that passes for you and you get back into the swing of it… if you want to that is 😉 x

  3. Yeahhh …. I am just glad you are out of that horrid other job you were at.

    As for the 1st day … *smiles* … take it as a win as it sounds like it went well. How many are there that you work with?

    • Thanks sweet-pea 🙂 and YES I AM TOO! There are um let me see 8-9 ladies in the office (though 1 is leaving soon) then there are the Sales Reps (on the road) the Sales Managers, the daughter and son of the owners, the owners…don’t know hoe many all up, but there seems to be a few. 🙂

    • No lunch is ‘called’ at 12.30 which I have to get use to …as all other jobs I had a set time and went – here we ALL go together. lol you nutter 🙂 Down tools – happy hour is every Thursday at 4 (we finish at 5) and the wine is out apparently…so hanging for Thursday! I have the 18th off for an appointment – so I think I covered your ?’s? and thanks you darling ..I hope so. xx

    • Thank you T day 3 about to start – yes I have to get off the computer 😦 sadly… I’m waiting to be a stay at home gal once again, though I have another 8 years of work before I can, unless a win a lottery that is….yeah right. xxx

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

