Drugs

I have a drug inside me

coursing through my veins
not a little coloured pill

a drug
not herbal or manufactured
yet makes my skin glow
relieves my aches and pains

a drug
that makes me
euphoric intoxicated
not held within a glass

a drug
that relaxes and calms
that is not injected or smoked

a drug
that isn’t prescription
that gives me a high and
brings me comfort

a drug
not administered
intravenously yet supplies
energy and sustenance

a drug
that helps me sleep
peacefully through the night
which isn’t a sedative

a drug
that steadies my moods
keeps me on track
that isn’t a vitamin

a drug
that helps when my head pounds
which isn’t an aspirin

a drug
that stimulates
which isn’t a white powder

a drug inside me
coursing through my veins

a drug simply intoxicating

that drug is labelled YOU

images

28 thoughts on “Drugs

      • I have a drug inside me
        (It’s coffee as I have said)

        coursing through my veins
        not a little coloured pill
        (seeee … coffee is not a pill)

        a drug
        not herbal or manufactured
        yet makes my skin glow
        relieves my aches and pains
        (again …coffeeeeeee … it’s not herbal…there is caffeine in it!)

        a drug
        that makes me
        euphoric intoxicated
        not held within a glass
        (no … not in a glass…coffee is served in coffee mugs *smirks*)

        a drug
        that relaxes and calms
        that is not injected or smoked
        (nod nods… coffee is taken orally)

        a drug
        that isn’t prescription
        that gives me a high and
        brings me comfort
        (need I say more? ok I will. Coffeeeeeeeee

        a drug
        not administered
        intravenously yet supplies
        energy and sustenance
        (and who will deny that coffee gives you energy???)

        a drug
        that helps me sleep
        peacefully through the night
        which isn’t a sedative
        (well … so long as you don’t drink it late at night…)

        a drug
        that steadies my moods
        keeps me on track
        that isn’t a vitamin
        (its not a vitamin, but coffee should be it’s own food group)

        a drug
        that helps when my head pounds
        which isn’t an aspirin
        (Oh. My. God. Do I even need to put a prompt for coffee here?)

        a drug
        that stimulates
        which isn’t a white powder
        (caffeine stimulates nod nods)

        a drug inside me
        coursing through my veins
        (ohhh yeahhh….mmmm….warm … yummy…coffeeeeee

        a drug simply intoxicating
        (and also simply delicous)

        that drug is labelled YOU COFFEE

        lol…thank you for letting me hi-jack your blog. Now…should I also go back and do one for CHOCOLATE? Mmmmmmmmm the other food group.

  1. You nut-bag πŸ˜‰ see I don’t mind coffee but I’m not a coffeeeeeee lover. Ice coffee yes – hot coffee not so much, glad you hijacked πŸ™‚ Yes now your turn to do one on chocolate πŸ™‚ The challenge has been set! xx

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

