Picture it & Write Prompt Just hit Enter

For this Challenge by Picture it & Write, we can either follow the theme go to
http://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/picture-it-and-write-special/#respond
or create your own version of the picture below. I have chosen my own theme.

1260785_84481055

My fingers shake above the keyboard, my nose runs, yet I just sit here sniffing, like an infant, wiping the end of my nose with the back of my hand, ย instead of reaching for a tissue from the box in front of me.
The letters on the keys are blurry, they fade out, then come into focus.
I know where each letter sits, I don’t care.
I feel my heart beating loudly inside my chest, my breath is fast, shallow.
Every now and then my chest rises sharply but falls just as quickly, as I try desperately to hold back more tears.
Five times now, I have counted them, a tear drops, hits a key and sinks into a gap between the letters.
At least the letter is clearer.
Why has it come to this, that I sit here, my body shaking, stomach hurting, as if someone has punctured my intestines with a six inch blade, I feel nauseous, my body fights to hold the expulsion of vomit.
I will myself … do this, move your hand to the right, hit that damn enter key.
Like the letters, my view seems clearer.
Enter

 

 

“God what have I done”.

For

pictureitandwrite2copy-1

19 thoughts on “Picture it & Write Prompt Just hit Enter

  1. Another superb ending!! Such an emotional build – lovely image when the key becomes clearer with the tear on top of it. Those are the details that make writing so real. Nice one!!

    • Gabs bless ya’ and thank you for reading and commenting. I envisaged a tear hitting the blurry key and then that came to me, I love it when readers can relate or see what I am trying to say. ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  2. Wow! Super powerful. You conveyed the emotions so well, the anxiety that the individual is feeling. Fantastic interpretation of the picture and great execution. Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write! ๐Ÿ™‚

    – Ermisenda

    • Ermilia – I thank you- your comments mean a great deal to me and all the writers. I love your site and will continue to contribute as long as you keep posting pics ๐Ÿ™‚ Appreciate the kind words you have said – thank you!

    • Yepirate I am flabbergasted by your comment. On reflection, I perhaps may be a ‘method writer’ to a certain degree, for I do try and wholly put myself in the place of the person or event that I write about. This is such a compliment and I thank you so much.

  3. mmmn my problem is hitting publish without much thought ^^ loved this .line : a tear drops, hits a key and sinks into a gap between the letters… wonderful

  4. Pingback: Picture It & Write | terry1954

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

