As a tree grew so did love

From Scott Vanatter with permission-Copyright- Indira

From Scott Vanatter with permission-Copyright- Indira

“Tell me about Molly, grandfather, please?” Ewan pleaded, as they nestled against the gnarled tree.

Eugene looked into his grandson’s eyes and saw himself many years ago, a curious youth.

“Molly be the first girl I stole a kiss from, red flowing curls, eyes as blue as the ocean, skin like milk, lips the colour of strawberries, aye such a beauty”.

“In fact this very tree is where we kissed.”

Ewan blushed. “Did you hide grandfather, because you were my age, behind the tree, so no one caught you?”

“No”, Eugene laughed, “your grandmother and I never hid our love from anyone”.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

102 words For Friday Fictioneers Β http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/5-april-2013/#comments

Tell a 100 word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going over or under the word count.)

63 thoughts on “As a tree grew so did love

  1. Verily beautiful! Actually, sometimes it unnerves me when stories reach out and grab me for different reasons. This one’s last line reminds me of how I thought it would be, alas to the consternation of la ex-wifie, very much opposed to any of that – her culture I think, so now am sombre at thoughts of what might have been and how nice that would be. You chose subject well.

    • Pirate I so thank you and I am glad that my story reached you as it did, but also saddened that it has made you sombre…when we write we sometimes do not think of what others who may read feel or what reactions there will be. I am comforted knowing she is ex-wifie and that ‘what might have been’ will ‘now be’ with someone new. πŸ™‚ Take Care friend.

  2. Lovely story, the last line is just perfect. So many younger people think they have the monopoly on love; gets better with age as does the friendship
    Thanks for this
    Dee

    • Welcome Dee and thank you, yes love has no barriers and friendship grows with every passing year, it’s a shame that some of the younger ones aren’t able to experience this. Appreciate you reading and I so glad that you enjoyed it. Jenny

  3. I love the way they weren’t ashamed of their love and glad he could pass this on to his grandson.

    BTW, you need an apostrophe in “grandson’s” here: “grandsons eyes”, since there’s just one grandson. πŸ™‚

    janet

    • Hello Janet
      Thank you, I am so glad the message was visible, appreciate you reading.
      Thank you for the BTW too, πŸ™‚ I stared at it and knew it wasn’t right, but I had been writing for most of the day on and off and I think once again my brain cells were exhausted 😦

    • H.A how sweet of you, thank you for reading. Though my words are sometimes ‘pea-nut’ butter (from a previous post) I think and hope that they are meaningful enough to those who read me. xx

  4. I like the idea that grown men aren’t afraid to show their love. To a mate, to a grandchild. Teaches us something about his character, I think. Liked this very much!

    • Honie, I am honoured that you have read and enjoyed. Thank you so very much for your lovely comment. If only more men in this world were not afraid to show their inner feelings, instead of having to maintain a ‘macho’ image. x

  5. Awww, this is lovely πŸ™‚ How did you capture so much with such a short little piece?

    Thanks for sharing!

    Rohan.

    • Thanks Rohan, some of the challenges are very tight indeed with the number of words allowed, so we have to squeeze out what we can in a minimal amount. Lots of editing!
      Thank you so much for reading πŸ™‚

  6. Lovely story!
    Just one thing..
    Looks like : “No, Eugene laughed, your grandmother and I never hid our love from anyone”. Needs extra quotes?

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

