Just being happy

I am sitting here listening to CAT STEVENS…

[youtube.com/watch?v=Ri4NmwnuqrY]

my memories float back to open fields and daisy chains
to laughter and love between old friends
to happy times and smiles that brimmed
to carefree days and moon lit nights
to guitars that strummed
plectrum flicking strings
voices pretending we could sing
and skirts held high dancing on soft sand
as water lapped ankles and the moon held grand
to swirling and to soft kisses
in tender age of unknowing
he takes me back to all these things
to all that hides within my heart
to memories of how things use to be
so play a song that reminds you
of how you were how you loved and laughed
rejoiced in the world without a care
and take yourself back
pretend that you
are there

19 thoughts on “Just being happy

  1. Your blog reminded me of this song for some reason

    skirts held high dancing on soft sand
    as water lapped ankles and the moon held grand
    to swirling and to soft kisses
    in tender age of unknowing

    Just seems to match…Well for me anyway..
    Love your taste in music..

    x

      • It was a good match, thank you…
        As I read your blog “Dancing on the sand with the moon looking down” That song “Stay the night” just fitted..I think we have all had a midnight party on the beach as youngsters, and these are some of our best years..

        1:30am!! You will turn into an Owl like me πŸ™‚

        lol

      • LOL I know in fact I am doing my last post for the eve’ then I slumber. I am wide awake though through closed eyes…if that makes sense! I think we all had midnight parties on the beach….now I have Barbara singing ‘Memories’ in my head…
        Hoot Hoot πŸ™‚ xx

      • You will be sleeping..but, Night πŸ™‚
        Speak now..when you get this, as you are now awake.

        πŸ™‚ x

  2. Ohh….I believe he did turn to eastern religion…and he did not sing for the longest time. I heard on NPR or something, that he now sings again…for children and tries to help them through song nod nods.

    *smiles at the song playing as I write* … it sounds very Spanish nod nods

    • I am glad you smiled as you wrote – I do love his songs…the oldie but goldies never die and can be listened to over and over again. Yes you are correct with your first para πŸ™‚ nods x

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

