Closing the door to winter

Tony at DVerse came up with a mathematical play for pieces .. I chose the syllable count. I hope this fits.

http://dversepoets.com/2013/08/15/form-for-all-mathematical-series/

**********************

images-1

cold
grey
winter
leave me now
inevitable
 dissipate, bring me needed warmth
watching rain trickle down the window pane, I am lost
darkened skies, release your sun, set this grey mood free, through white clouds to bring serenity

Fibonnaci: 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21. Syllable count

For the wonderful D’verse Poets Pub

33 thoughts on “Closing the door to winter

  1. This meets the form wonderfully – and the internal rhymes really help to move this along. We nearly all know how it feels to long for the end of winter (the rainy season if you don’t get winter …) and you’ve caught the mood well. Thankfully, we are enjoying a good summer in Scotland – the first for a few years.

  2. ah those rainy days can go on the psyche for sure…glad that we’re having lovely sunshine over here still but heading towards winter inevitably…. good job on the form ma’am

  3. smiles….i would not mind a nap today…and i just woke up…ha….if it was raining i would love it all the more….the gentle tap on the window would lull me to sleep right away….well done on the form…

  4. Sunshine – now that is what we all need! Wonderful use of the form, and a great write. I’m pretty thankful much of our cold Canadian winter on the prairies is bright with sun, cold but bright! I loved the mood you created here. Nicely done.

  5. I really don’t like those rainy winters – I used to live in Germany and know exactly what you mean. If it wasn’t raining, it was foggy, damp and depressing. As Shanyns says, the Canadian prairie winters are cold, but there’s usually lots of sun and it’s very, very bright – sometimes you can see the ice crystals sparkling in the air.

    Great post – the structure and rhythm really work! 🙂

    • I haven’t experienced a German winter, but I know all about them, winter in Europe is not nice. I just have to wait it out, then when I’m in the thick of heat you can tell me about how you are freezing 😉 Thanks you sweet. xx

  6. Lovely. Hope you’re feeling warm soon, but that mean’s we’ll be getting cold and wet and miserable, so maybe I don’t wish for you to have good weather too quickly. 😉

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

