Alright everyone line up alphabetically according to your height

Ah the wonderful folk at  dVerse  and Tony (who is tending the bar)  have asked us to write a ballad. Don’t ask me why – but I went to Irish mode with mine and was dancing like a Leprechaun (well writing) across the page and even sung the words with the accent. Come across to the Poet’s Pub and see what other ballads these brilliant folk have written. I hope this is worthy for my 610th post.

 

images-2

 

We’ve been asked to write a ballad
try to keep it true to form
yet I never think of meter’s
as that makes me all forlorn

as words I simply place on page
no metaphors and such
and if a ballad comes of this
I shall like it very much

so in a lilt I sing these words
that I place upon the page
and hope that they make common sense
to show I’m being brave

one day I’ll learn a trochee
rhythm, meters possibly more
but for now I write this ballad
as my head is growing sore

so sing with me in your own tune
and sing with me in glee
this ballad that I offer you
simply comes from me

©jmtacken Sept 2013

 

ahh to be sure to be sure… lol my hopeless Irish accent – thanks Audra (can’t stop laughing)

52 thoughts on “Alright everyone line up alphabetically according to your height

  1. I loved, loved, this one! It was so fun! And I think you have a lovely Irish accent, I try mine and I sound like a cross between Scarface and lucky the leprechaun (the cereal mascot) 😉

    • my son-in-law who is Irish would so not agree lol – but I tried, luckily I stopped the recording when I did as I burst out laughing! Thank you darling..I am sure you don’t sound like Scarface and Lucky… hmm well possibly 😉 x

      • My Aunt is from England and I spent hours attempting to mimic her speech as a kid because she has that brilliant lyrical voice much as you and I wanted to sound like that. Never happened lol

      • I have some English blood in these veins, the times when I would return from being there – it took me AGES to stop talking with a broad accent. Hehehe – but I loved it..aww & thank you for the compliment luvey xx

      • I always thought I should go to England, being completely surround by the accent maybe I’d get it lol or perhaps I’d just corrupt all of Europe with my whalking and twalking (L’s are silent hehe)

        Make more recordings! 🙂

      • Peeps LOL! I can’t say that without picturing marshmallow peeps. I’m trying to work on all mine but my heads all over the place! I love your Aussieness!

        Someday I’ll get everywhere I want to go 🙂

  2. You’ve got the ballad form down perfectly here; the beats in each line, the rhyme scheme, the lilting musicality – everything is just right. The poem is great fun and the title is pure genius … smiles

  3. Yes RM said with a jovial Irish accent not only makes more sense but sounds delightful. Well done. I am away so I have no sound.

  4. Delightful!
    I have the same difficulty writing in form – really got to think about what I’m doing rather than letting the words flow freely.
    Anna :o]

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

