Is it you or an illusion (Prose)

My_lost_love_by_schabi

does my mind play tricks on me
a magician who waves the wand
across the top hat for a rabbit to appear
have you returned to fill the lacuna in my life
the missing piece ~ the closure
You, who I relied upon, who sated my desires
the figure beneath the ghostly sheet that walks
the passage-ways of my dreams

is my love for you not finished
I see you walk along concrete streets
out of doorways ~ I hear the bell
that peals your existence
my mind sees you, two steps in front of me
back turned distancing yourself
I call, but have no answer
is this your sign to move on, relinquish
what I feel

to someone that I loved
yet you are creeping back,  inch by inch
to present day, disrupting the life that I
had to make, a decision not of mine
to forget what was ours, I can’t extinguish
the love we had, unrealistically so to ask
and my question is ~ should you not let me be
so that I move on

I shall answer ~ a finger placed upon your
lips, I cannot, not for now in this moment
I feel you next to me, a hand held
a whispering kiss
the passions of the night, the laughter
in the days, the wine against the sunsets
you are not real ~ you have disappeared
and I walk the concrete streets alone
holding you in my heart
cradling you in my arms

©jmtacken Sept 2013

Photo Credit schiraki.deviantart.com

30 thoughts on “Is it you or an illusion (Prose)

  1. One has to let go the ghost of that person… I guess. Really well-written. Smooth flow, evocative and with that sadness- I loved it.
    Sometimes emotions are what enrich the poem… not words, not rhymes, not rhythm but just emotions. And that is what I feel here.

  2. Jenn….. I can’t possibly express – because my words don’t go there… the emotion that traced through me when reading your poem…

    You, who I relied upon, who sated my desires
    the figure beneath the ghostly sheet that walks
    the passage-ways of my dreams

    I mean, there is no one on this earth who can not empathize with these incredible words. Honestly your poem made me feel as though my mind has just made incredibally sweet and satisfying love with another mind……

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

