A little Spring in your step (Prose)

4255182-3x2-940x627

touch the Spring in Australia
warmth in wind beckons leaves to dance
birds to sing and nest

though the ladder in my shed
not the ideal place
step on pavements in front of neighbours

flowers blossom, coloured rainbows
against backdrops of green hues
inspiring Spring, perfumes not in bottles

unlike colder Seasons, treading outside gusts of
cold bitter winds hit skin, tis pleasant to walk
within ~ the gardens of my land

take note that your change comes, as my change does
change in fauna, changes in moods and love
that may spiral to a darker place

when winter darkness fills your space
your thoughts grow dim
whilst mine blossoms ~ light, carefree

no star shaped colours rustling under foot
no snow or cold to chill the bones
no heat that expires and draws your breath

I have a skip in my step in Spring
forget the crunch, the heat, the thunder
dare I say it ~ yes I will

there’s no other place like ‘Down Under’

© JMTacken Oct 16 23013

The bird pictured is a Magpie http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_Magpie

This is for DVerse dVerse–  Hosted by Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Read some amazing Poets – join in the fun if you wish. The drinks are on the house 🙂

29 thoughts on “A little Spring in your step (Prose)

  1. Nice… I like Australia; the things that I know about the country. 🙂 Moreover, when I used to watch cricket, Aussies were my favorite. 😀
    Beautifully written… captures the essence of spring and I loved that last statement… “there’s no place like down under” 🙂
    -HA

  2. I am so envious of you, writing of spring. It is such an optimistic season. And we here in the northern USA are just heading toward a cold winter. I love Australia, have been there twice. Would go back to visit in a heartbeat. I can dream…

      • A week in Tasmania, a week in Sydney, so e time in Brisbane on one trip. On my way! another…a few days in Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney, and Hobart. Favorite places are All of Tasmania and Sydney.

      • Oh no you didn’t say Melbourne as your favourite *smiles* that’s ok our 4 seasons in one day is a downer. I haven’t been to Tassie yet – one day perhaps. Glad you enjoyed your visits – hope there will be more for you *smiles*

  3. this is def an easy season to let the shadows creep in on you…and we dont even notice….being conscious of this allows us to make concessions and make sure we are not in turn passing it on tot he next…i love this seeason though despite the ghosts…smiles.

    • Sorry about garbled comments in response above. Using an iPad, and the auto-correct. I don’t know where ‘on my way’ came from. And I DID like Melbourne too. Smiles. Do visit Tasmania…an amazing place! Have a friend who lives in Hobart.

      • Mary *smiles* no need for apologies. IPads are notorious for goof-ups. I thought you meant you were coming over again with that – I was abut to say good we can meet! I will get over there but must go in Summer it is way too cold in their Winter months.

  4. Lovely poem about my favorite season. I would like to visit Australia some day. For now I have you to paint pictures for me in my mind’s eye:)

  5. Oh those equinox seasons – love the mirror poem placing you on brink of summer while we suspend for winter this side up. Lovely poem, exploring your own garden paths and taking us there without having to travel any farther than your poem. Well done!

    • Where does he live Grace? Not Melbourne with wearing light clothes, for today we have grey skies and cold winds… most of the time it is respectable for the Season – Thank you so much and a happy day to you too *smiles*

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

