Breaking Chains (Prose)

3aae0f9acf5b4a1e078d7bb45664fe5e

Melded personality unrecognisable
from the person that I was
it seemed only moments when
deciphering me wasn’t possible
chained, your shackles left no room
for movement ~ for me to be myself
without a smile I bid hello to mornings
blew goodnight kisses to the moon
with loss in my eyes

how did I let this happen
as if I was invisible
no thoughts, no rhyme or reason
allowing my identity to vanish
but I’m here, trapped, exploring
ways to escape without a broken heart
ungluing myself from your control
my existence does not need your breath
to smile once more at the moon and sun

to take the me from us

©jmtacken 21 Oct 2013

Photo Credit: http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net

17 thoughts on “Breaking Chains (Prose)

  1. without a chance to be myself…how trapped that must feel….and how hard a life that must be…blaming ourselves too, how we let it happen…sometimes we dont see it coming….great closing line as well.,

  2. Truly lovely thoughts here…. and so true. “Un-gluing” is certainly necessary for some to maintain their own identities… Others seem happy by merging themselves with another. It seems a rather human trait to me. I don’t really know where I stand on the issue. Sometimes I feel lonely when alone. But mostly am comfortable in my own skin. When in a relationship though I often feel trapped, and sometimes even lonelier. I think one should reach happiness first and then look for others to share that happiness with, rather than expecting someone to fill our own “happiness” voids. I think that sort of thing never works out well and always leaves us lost within the version of what we were expected to be for someone else….

  3. So insightful, Jen. I can relate so much. ‘Servicing’ others and seeing to their needs can drown all sense of self. Who am I? Where did I go? How did I get to here? Seeking answers to reclaim some part of who you were and are. For me, just now, it’s in exploring in words what is within. Loved this.x

  4. Though I don’t know of it, but I think there is a great dependency sometimes in relationships, which might make a person lose his/her own identity.
    And trying to come out of it… to revive “the me” sounds good.
    Thoughtful writing.
    -HA

    • Hello Anmol, perhaps I shall call you by your name now ~ if that’s ok? ~yes many lose their identity along the way, some sooner than others ~ wanting to become of the person they are in the relationship with, in order to please and making themselves unhappy in the process. Thank you so much.

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

