Lighting My Way (Prose for Dverse)

images-1

“I am growing weaker, my time is coming to an end, please will you light a candle, when it’s time to leave this earth”

“I will light a candle I promise – one of thousands”

“Help me find my way – so I won’t be lost, I am frightened of the journey I face ~ please tell me I’ll be safe”

“Please do not be scared, I know you are ~ I will guide you, with my candles, with the light, they’ll brightly burn,  through this night and every other day and I promise, I’ll keep them burning, till you are safe and without pain”

“One shall be lit on your Birthday and at Christmas time, to symbolise my love for you, as a remembrance of your life”

“I will seek out the glowing flame, I promise, from wherever I may be, smiling and sending love to you, for you remembering me”

“Do you think I could forget you, you are a part of me, the candle flame is as much for you, as it is for me”

“I’m ready now to journey, light it now so I may see, my tired eyes will watch the glow ~ till they finally close”

As I light the wick, my head turns away from you, just for a brief moment as my strength diminishes and tears run down my cheek. The flame burns bright, the dark so silent, closes in, I hold your hand, to comfort you, but your eyes have closed and you are gone.

©jmtacken Dec 2013

For the fabulous Dverse – The Pub – http://dversepoets.com I have chosen a ‘significance’ of candle lighting ~ perhaps not to cheery for this time of year ~ but it is where my muse took me.

For this prompt, the lovely Mary has asked us to write about:

–’lights’ or ‘candles,’ either their significance for you in regard to holiday celebrations or their uses in a secular way.
–the stars, moon, sun which provide our natural ‘lighting’ at this time of the year.
–winter solstice — the shortest day of the year, the day we most need additional light.
– the light of the world, however and wherever you find it during this darkest (in Northern Hemisphere anyway) few weeks of the year.

Photo Credit –schifty-lorzo.deviantart.com

45 thoughts on “Lighting My Way (Prose for Dverse)

  1. you know… a colleague from at work has just lost her husband shortly before christmas… it will be a tough time for her to celebrate that first christmas without him… i do hope that once my time comes i will be ready to let go… there’s a lot of comforting symbolism in lighting candles…

    • yes I read that in one of your works ~ there is no ‘good’ time to lose someone you love ~ Christmas time possibly the saddest. I don’t know if we would ever be ready ~ we just have to hope ~ lighting candles are a comfort I agree and they have so much symbolism ~ thank you Claudia.

    • Thank you so much my friend – yes the lighting of candles a ritual performed at many Services, to guide our loved ones on their way.

  2. Candles remind me of my grandad that passed away years and years away. As you say, it might be not too cheerful at this time of year, but its actually making people stop and think…
    Great work x

  3. This is a beautiful poem, Jenny! Sad and comforting at the same time. ““Do you think I could forget you, you are a part of me, the candle flame is as much for you, as it is for me” – heart-wrenching and beautiful at the same time!

  4. So many have already said what I have felt. These are very moving sentiments expressed here, Jenny. The ending was so very poignant, with the eyes closing as the dark closes in.

  5. What a beautiful and moving scene ~ The symbol of the candles, for the light to another journey and in remembrance ~ Thanks for sharing ~

    Wishing you Merry Christmas and best of the holiday season ~

  6. Jen, this is so deeply touching. I’ve watched with many dying persons and somehow the candles always brought a certain degree of peace and that sense of a guiding light. I felt your pain in this, but also your beautiful strength.

    Related to your comments on my post…I hope that you know, it was not about religion but about the spirit of religion which should be loving others and giving of oneself.

    • Thank you Vick ~ such a simple ‘instrument’ of serenity and calm ~ thank you for your wonderful comment and yes I totally agree with spirit of religion ~ thank you for understanding x

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

