Just a bored babble from Mums

Sometimes as you know I deviate from poetry and just babble.

This is a babble moment ~ perhaps as I am bored. Staying at home every day, visiting the Penguins, which I will be after I write this, shopping for groceries, going for a walk, may sound like the ideal, but unfortunately it's not paying the bills.

Anyway I am not here to gripe and carry on about my boredom, for that will only get you miffed and bored at my boring writing. So I am talking about food. No, I'm not posting recipes (relax) though I do cook a really mean butterflied BBQ leg of lamb I can tell you about. Waits to see if anyone asks. This morning and it's just hit 11am Tuesday here folks, I was peckish - normally I don't eat breakfast, though I have been making a fresh fruit juice of nectarines, apples, mangos, strawberries and peaches..I see you salivating.

Then I thought hmm what can one eat at this time of the morning that isn't too fattening (yes desperately trying to lose a kilo or two) prior to the big day, so I don't feel too guilty about consuming too much food and alcohol.

What did I come up with you ask?  You did ask didn't you? Good. Slices of cold roast rare beef with chopped green chilli, now before you cringe too much, yes I know it's morning, but chillies are a good kick start to your metabolism and I can eat the 'weirdest' foods/combinations at any time. Do keep in mind my European/English/Aussie upbringing. 

For example

Cold pizza in the morning - now how many love this…many that I know of. Then I eat other 'weird' combinations like salt on tasty cheese (I know mybad with the salt) but I don't eat it every day or large amounts, so you can relax. Or mustard on cheese - yup. Or rollmops - pickled raw herring that has been marinated in vinegar and onion see picture below (this I don't have for breakfast - usually) Oysters, mussels, squid, octopus. Pickles - sweet- sour- I eat every kind.
Rye bread with caraway seeds (my European influence - as is the roll mops).
Then of course there are the 'normals' Indian, Thai, Vietnamese, Moroccan, Italian, French, Japanese, Greek (hmm saganaki is too die for) - I try as many different types of cuisines as possible.

Why not, open your minds and mouths to all the exotic and wonderful tastes from around the world, this also helps you not to be a fuss-pot when going to a Restaurant and sticking with the same ol- same ol, saying "Oh I'd never eat that" when my response is why not - how do you know if you don't try?

So that's my babble, I have finished the beef and chillies, about to hop in the shower (well I am at home) then visit the penguins…oh and possibly shop for something for dinner since I am now salivating - go on proceed to tickle your tastebuds - just for Mumsy? :-) Tell me the weird & wonderful you try?

Dinner at the Raw Prawn (prawns, barramundi fish, octopus and mud crabs) oh and salad.

Dinner at the Raw Prawn (prawns, barramundi fish, octopus and mud crabs) oh and salad.

Finally and waiting for the 'ewwww' comments, one of my favourites - Rollmops, Pickled Herring...that's fish guys that's marinated in a vinegar...don't judge me, I was raised on them!

Finally and waiting for the ‘ewwww’ comments, one of my favourites – Rollmops, Pickled Herring…that’s fish guys that’s marinated in a vinegar…don’t judge me, I was raised on them! PS it’s the Salmon above that is expensive- these are $5.51

37 thoughts on “Just a bored babble from Mums

    • Hello and thank you – yes fuss-pot is one that I say alot 🙂 I totally agree with tasting different cultures- now can you tell me the weirdest thing you like to eat? Thanks for reading and commenting axiomatika.

  1. I’m with you on 99% of your choices. Barramundi fish (don’t know what that is) and octopus (not my fav texture), other than that will have to try mustard on cheese; I like onion on cheese.

    Herring I was raised on too. Every Christmas I go nuts and then I’m done for the year (because it’s a Christmas tradition for us). I have so many other foods I go nuts on the rest of the year. 😀

  2. you know its far too late at night for you to be making me hungry…but you have…and i would def eat the roast beef and chillies….had tamales once for breakfast just outside of mexico…authentic…and dang they hit the spot…

  3. I love posts like this. I wonder about Oysters however, I had a chat with someone down under a week or two ago about this, we were trying to decide how it was discovered as a food item.. someone saw something slimy on the beach and said hmmm I have to try this? … raw, *giggles* we also decided it was a guy. *nods wisely*

  4. ahhh yes I wonder who ever thought..but then I guess it applies to most ‘odd’ foods that we eat – for instance – crocodile – camel – snake? Not that these are reg in my diet – but I have tried them and they all taste like chicken. 🙂 Glad you liked my babble darling – needed to lift my mood from this morning… xxxx

  5. Being born and raised in a vegetarian family, I have tried chicken and a tiny bit of duck only once and I can count the number of times I have had an egg on two fingers. 😀
    I view as many cookery and food reality shows I can and I hope I get to eat everything to my joy one day, but not for beef… even though I am not religious but still being born into one has left with a tiny obligation. 🙂

    • really? as much as I would like to be a vegetarian for the sheer principle – I don’t think I could see myself being one. We have eggs at least twice a week. Having an obligation is fine by mean and I respect that 🙂

  6. I eat a lot of Japanese food home cooked because I like lightly cooked flavorful veggies. I love all kinds of veggies, veggies most people turn their noses up at. Even Brussels sprouts. Everything except bitter melon I can’t seem to acquire that. Sweden has a lot of pickled herring but I can’t really eat it I like fish just not pickled or aged, fresh fish I like. I do enjoy pickled vegetables though. I could eat beef with chilies. Lately my diet had no been that varied and not that healthy it has just been quick.

    • I love Japanese and I do like veg – but should eat more of them… I like brussel sprouts with a bit of butter and S & P. See I can eat cold pickled veg – but not asian pickled veg ech. Yay! beef with chillies all is not lost then 🙂 I am the same quick and easy is the trend . Thanks for answering C. xx

      • I need to eat more of them, usually I eat quite a lot of them but I’ve been bad lately lol I haven’t had picked veg that aren’t Japanese aside from pickles I don’t think

  7. You are my kind of girl, hahaha. I always eat “weird” things in the morning for my breakfast. But its because im always hungry and breakfast should be the most important meal of the day!
    So lets chop those chillies and i’ll bring coffee 🙂

  8. Love the look of that platter.
    Food should be adventurous. Unfortunately, I find myself cooking tried and tested ‘cos i know it will be eaten. I have one fuss pot at home and he used to drive me bananas trying to make him eat what we were all eating or to find something that he would eat. He had an aversion to ‘anything that used to have a face’. I let him get on with it himself now and he is gradually incorporating things into his diet that I’m surprised at.
    I love trying new food although certain textures do make me feel a bit queasy like oysters or anything slimy.
    And pickles I love. I ate them by the jar when I was pregnant with my fuss pot. Wonder if there’s anything in that. 🙂 x

    • Pickles – hmm yes may explain 🙂 My girls were the same quite choosy – particularly one of them – now hell she eats tomato! The food was yummy – bit of a seafood buff – see food eat it…yup corny. Yes tantalising the taste buds is a wonderful past time- laughed at the anything slimy 🙂 x

  9. Now, I am hungry and I haven’t eaten dinner yet, smiles ~ I usually don’t eat anything heavy for breakfast nowadays but I can eat a good heavy breakfast with rice to boot ~ Smiles ~

    Happy Holidays and see you around ~

    • It’s strange isn’t it I can’t eat breakfast – but put a full breakfast out – eggs, bacon, toast, tomato, sausages, spinach…I’m there! Rice? Hmm tried when is Asia but never at home.

      Yes I am sure I will see you around too – thanks Grace ~ smiles x

  10. I love breakfast but sadly I’m very conventional first thing in the morning. I think I might puke if I tried some of what you offered up. Later in the day I’m willing to experiment with food a little more…especially in the evening with some wine to wash it down if it’s gross.

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

