Merry Christmas to you and to all Goodnight

Best singing voices everyone – to be sung to Away in A Manger…but not the words in brackets..

Christmas in Australia (Down Under)

is just round the bend (tee hee tomorrow)

I have prepped and stressed out  (no I haven’t this year it’s at Sister -in-laws)

and now hope this will end

~~~~

We shall have our nibbilies

when they first walk in the door (no her door)

then we’ll offer them a drink 

one or two or maybe more

~~~

We shall sit at the table and crack

our bon-bons plastic toys and

paper hats and will look

like proper nongs ( Aussie for idiot)

~~~

I’ll stress ’bout the turkey and also the pork (not this year)

is it cooked properly through

is it done right? Yes I query

please test with your fork

~~~

I’ll consume too much alcohol (a given)

I know this to be true

and I’ll get all melancholy

just gazing at you (bleary eyed)

~~~

the entree will come first

do not know what they’ll bring (I’m bringing 3kgs of prawns with home made Sate sauce & lots of garlic)

I’m sure it’ll be delightful

and we’ll gladly tuck in

~~~

the spuds will be crunchy

the pumpkin cooked just right

the mushy peas and salads

tasty morsels every bite

~~~

Then we have our pudding

lashings of custard if you please

then there’s trifle laced with alcohol ( a given again)

oh our belts will surely squeeze

~~~

The wine will flow freely

the laughs will get loud

there’ll be memories of

past years and how we imbibed

~~~

The presents will we open we

will goo and we will will gaa

we shall say oh you shouldn’t have (eyes rolling)

you really went too far

~~~

BUT secretly we are happy

for the presents that they gave

we’re delighted and thankful

and ‘each one’ is our fave

~~~

The Carols will be playing

in the background soft and sweet

we shall eat drink and be merry

and later fall asleep (some quicker than others)

~~~

Yes,  this day is for families

and ones that you love

if I start to get teary

I will blame the egg-nog (have to blame something)

~~~

The festivities will be finished

the kitchen is a mess (well hers will be)

the dishes piled up high

but at least no more stress

~~~

Then Christmas day is over and

our tummies will be full and we

daren’t go and weigh ourselves

no that would be cruel

~~~

So enjoy your celebrations

whatever you may do have

and cry or laugh hysterically

for you’re entitled too 

©jmtacken 2013

I cheated – this is what I wrote last year..it’s a bit…hmmm…unless of course you sang (okay it’s still hmmm) and I added a few bits as I am not holding Christmas this year (PHEW) but as I have another Service to write ~ well I’m taking the easy way out.

Seriously though ~ how do I thank you? All of you, for your kind words, your critique, your encouragement, your care, your support. I have been on WP since July last year, last December I had posted 69 posts..up to this one 712… yes ~ that is why I called my site Ramblings.

Again seriously, this Mums from ‘Down Under’ is grateful that I have met you and developed friendships. We lost another fellow WP in October and she will be sorely missed. I will miss her, those who knew her will miss her.  Everyone (no matter how corny or trite you may think this sounds) is part of a family on here. We share, we cry, we give, we take, we laugh, encourage, we are humble, we boast…sounds like a family to me.

So from me to you all, I wish each and every one of you a beautiful Christmas. Mine of course is tomorrow, so I shall have a full stomach before you even start on yours. Ours will be in 31 deg heat…yours…hmm not so much.

May you all continue to write, continue to support each other and be there for one another ~ the good – the bad and the ugly. 

and like ‘Arnie’…. “I’ll be back”

Love ya’ faces

xxx

santa-in-canoe

Take Care everyone, stay safe and may your Christmas Day be filled with wonderment, joy and mostly love.

41 thoughts on “Merry Christmas to you and to all Goodnight

  1. I sang it all the way through! LOL. Great fun Jenny. I am so glad that I met you and I am really looking forward to getting to know you in 2014. I wish you and your family a really great and happy time. 🙂

    • Thank you Jade and thank you for singing! I thought I heard you..across the seas 🙂 Pleasure meeting you and also look forward to getting to know you and your writing more in the New Year.
      A lovely Christmas is wished to you and all your family.
      xx

  2. Lovely Jen, though the fact that you’ll be pissed before you start eating is a worry…lol….but have a great day, not so hot up my way, so should be a good one for us. Enjoy and I hope Santa is good to you.

  3. ha. so you became nongs eh? smiles…sounds like fun times…we had a great christmas thank you…everyone is kinda in their own little world right now playing with their presents…and i am half ready to sleep…lol…merry christmas…and thank you…smiles.

      • smiles….we just got back early this morning…and i am sucking coffee down to wake up still…lol…ran into some nasty fog coming through the mountains that really slowed us down adding a few hours to the trip….hope you had a good weekend…

      • Glad you got through the mountains okay and hope you had a wonderful time away – recharge the batteries ~ looking forward to next year and more poetry and babbling – Have a healthy, happy New Year my friend..and thank you for your friendship and your continued encouragement of this little mum down under. Appreciated ~ smiles from the heart and the face

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

