Where do we go from here (Prose)

15cc3eb44a186a10d6410a2b7ad29a38-dywvy1


Blood dried under nails coagulated
as my heart ~ for whispers of love
have egressed from inside these walls

once there was laughter, merriment
they eroded like sand, passing through
the hour glass of our nightmare, grain by grain

a time our love was made on rugs, tables
lust for bodies, desires that ached
thirst that could not be quenched

times change, people change, we have
you and I, forgotten who we were, lost
spoken words not of yearning but of despise

and we let it, with our private rationale
nights shoulder to shoulder, silence
is what broke us, neither knowing how to mend

neither conscious if we should, who was to blame
be accountable to sew up the pieces of what we had
we let it unravel, stitch by stitch

blood that stains my fingers, the scratches
on your face, as you yelled that you were leaving
that someone else now has my place

I won't fight any longer, my resolve, I have none
I've grown weak but gained more strength
knowing this is not the life I chose, nor the life I want

©jmtackenJan14

For D’verse Poets Pub – OpenLinkNight
They are back!!!

34 thoughts on “Where do we go from here (Prose)

  1. Gut-level writing here. Sometimes it seems things change so gradually that one doesn’t realize it for quite a while, perhaps until it is too late. Like some others have said, I like the expressed strength in the last stanza. I wish you more and more strength with time.

  2. so well written and expressed Jen,
    my favorite and familiar stanza;

    and we let it, with our private rationale
    nights shoulder to shoulder, silence
    is what broke us, neither knowing how to mend

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

