Unwanted Rivulets (Prose)

women sweating

Like a mouthful of
dried crackers
heat builds
share
glasses of
liquid cold

undress
me
slowly
soak me
slow
like a baptism
appreciate my hemispheres
languishing now

those who shiver
anticipate
us who scorch
expectantly
sun burn our pale skins
purposefully

I melt under an
intense
Australian sun
my relief
to bathe with you
in waters cool
you are my escape

I deliquesce as
hot winds
brush my skin
I invite the chill
eddy of icy winds

my body in beads
glistening
trickle down my throat
delivering me
from the battle
I must accept

Shared with http://dversepoets.comΒ  Β Victoria has set the challengeΒ Banish Boredom: Rx: Verbs!

Please pop in and read some brilliant poets or get your fingers to the keyboard and join in πŸ™‚

 

51 thoughts on “Unwanted Rivulets (Prose)

  1. I can feel the sweat trickling down my brow & throat, smiles ~ If only it is hot here but we are in the midst of winter ~ I will just dream of spring/summer ~ Have a good Thursday/Friday ~

  2. So exquisitely sensual, but then, I suppose heat does that to you. Nice work with the prompt, Jenny. Like you, I see the list ever growing…and it’s approaching my bedtime, yesterday to you, I suppose.

  3. Such intensity. Marvellous words and images jumping to mind. Sending you some of our rain and cold. Couldn’t spare a drop of sunshine? I’m about ready to go into my longing mode for brighter days and nights and some heat in the air. Toes are nipping and ready for a hot bath. Grass is always greener. And ours is practically emerald. πŸ˜‰ x

    • I think it worked our cool change came through last night, I stood outside with a soft touch of rain on my face, now we have 23….. Soon much better πŸ™‚ I’ll try and send some rays over as it won’t belong before they appear again. Our grass is crispy cracker brown 😦 x

  4. Beautiful use of verbs and very vivid imagery. I am going along with some of your other commenters and asking for a share of the sun! We have had rain every day for as long as I can remember now. Even the ducks are getting fed up! LOL. I thought I had your blog on my email list, but turned out I didn’t so sorry I’ve not really been here much. I shall try to do better. Hope you are well? πŸ™‚

    • Hi Jade, that’s okay, no need to apologise, appreciate you reading. You made me laugh about the ducks, I can imagine them paddling around quacking ” enough already” πŸ™‚ I’m doing okay thank you for asking as I hope you are πŸ™‚

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

