Simple Metamorphosis (Prose)

M_0010_Butterfly

myself as I
they as they
discovery

writers soared heights
I, background eyes
knowledge not of verse
hid cocooned

word love peeled
layers, pupa burst
abruptly changing
composition

immature ~
grown ever more
and in time
perhaps complete

these crystalline wings
unfurl, desire to coat
styles, structures
till I fly uninhibited
as other butterflies

©jmtacken 5th March 2014

Shared with Dverse Poetics

Anthony has us writing – Evolution is a gradual process of development and I wanna know how have you evolved as a poet.

I started my blog 18 months ago not contemplating writing poetry, but with reading and learning over those months I became addicted and received encouragement to continue. Though not quite the butterfly as some are, I hope to fly soon.

71 thoughts on “Simple Metamorphosis (Prose)

  1. I see what you mean about thinking along similar lines!! Wonderful butterfly analogy (I merely touched on it in my poem, but you have developed it so fully!) Beautiful!!

  2. I like the way you have described your evolution to this point, Jenny, from the immaturity, to finding your own wings, and then being secure enough to fly uninhibited, trusting your ability to soar in your own very special way!

  3. fly, butterfly, fly!

    even after unfurling your wings and taking flight, there are still many different heights and places to explore on these new wings.

  4. You are a distinctive butterfly, the arrival of which is marked by a sweet hymn. 🙂
    Lovely writing. The evolving nature… How beautiful it is!
    We evolve throughout our lives. There is completion in continuation. 🙂

    • thank you so much Claudia that is a very sweet thing to say, I think I’m teetering on the precipice right now ~ smiles back

  5. You are a wonderful writer! You have a very unique voice and style which is essential to truly stand out as a writer, and your thoughts and observations are beautifully expressed and make one sit back and reflect on life – this is the essence of good writing, so you are indeed a very majestic butterfly indeed!! 🙂 🙂

  6. Helen – Thank you so very, very much for your kind comment, I am humbled and taken back that you have said this and I am smiling so wide now – so thank you. 🙂

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

