Then and Now

images-7

today
lips briefly scratch the surface of my cheek
where were we?
mouths sensually touched

today
hands are held, but it’s I holding yours
what begun?
your tongue manipulated my finger tip, held in your mouth

today
we sigh in exasperation, anger, dishes in the sink
where was I?
breaths deepened, giddy lost in your essence

today
you touch my face, wiping crumbs from morning toast
where were you?
cupping my face within your hands, as my bottom lip drew into your kiss

today
your arms encircle me,Β when others comment how in love we are
what happened?
skin felt on fire and we smouldered at each other’s touch

flashbacks give me hope
let me feel again

Β©jmtacken 13th March 2014
(Fiction)

Sharing withΒ http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com.au Kerry has us creating a flashback moments

37 thoughts on “Then and Now

  1. This is such a valid topic for poetry, and I think the way you have set out each stanza as an echo of the one before, with its pertinent question really creates a sense of progression and a build up of the sense of loss expressed. The juxtaposition of then and now is strongly felt.

    • Kerry, firstly thank you for the prompt and for reading. I am grateful as a relatively new writer of poetry (around 16mths) that you have commented on the structure of what I wrote. I am grateful for comments who feel my words, but it is also necessary to have advice on how it was set out and how it looks to the reader, so thank you for your vital comment.

  2. πŸ™‚ Hi Mum ~~ Been there, done that. Very well written, as if from an experience.
    After time things do ebb. But not the occasional involuntary stifled sob nor those ‘special’ intimate moments of which you wrote, even for us guys. And after remarriage to another, some is still there.
    I am glad you classified this as ‘fiction’, I am relieved for your sake.

    (Thank you too for you nice visit. The ‘mum’ in my poem is our youngest daughter who has moved to London. After four plus years she should be coming home, she and the young one pictured and Hubby. A seventeen-year-old will remain for her last year of high school. We hope Hubby will be able to get a decent job when they return, our daughter has the job now that took them to London,)
    ..

    • Hi Jim
      Oh I have experienced it, a couple of times sadly, but moving on and meeting my partner now of 6 years, I couldn’t be happier. We learn though don’t we, as you did and it takes a couple of hurdles before we can run on the straight once more. Hope your ‘baby’ girl returns soon, I missed my eldest after 4 months! Keep those home fires burning Jim πŸ˜‰ and I thank you kindly for your visit and comment.

  3. I like the flash back to the past with the questions ~ You have weaved the sensuous past contrasting with a different present ~ Well done, smiles ~

    • Hello my lovely, pleasure to see you return (have missed you) thank you, I do have fun trying different styles and stops me from becoming bored πŸ™‚ xx

  4. Relationships are hard work. It’s difficult trying to explain this to the younger ones who think it’s all wine and roses and then give up at the first sign of having to put in effort (sorry, just realised I was rambling here) πŸ˜‰

    This is a beautiful poem, Jen. I just love your work πŸ˜€

    • I like it when you ramble, totally agreed about the youngens and their blaze attitude to relationships, like with most things – it’s a throw away world now …right? Thank you very much for loving my work, you are very sweet πŸ™‚ xx

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

