escaping

images-13

fall beneath a thousand stones
I wouldn’t feel a thing
my fragile bones wont crush
inhaled vibrations of silence
I fold upon tremors
under pressure from myself

concealed within a force field
I won’t allow access
permission denied
for it’s I who chose to dwell
in my labyrinthine enclosure

let hands go clockwise
when cold winds blow themselves
to sleep and I pull myself
out of the complicated
space that I allow myself
to wander through

Fiction – I’m not really in a dark mood tonight but my muse seems to be avoiding my company.

Copyright JMTacken 22 March, 2014

36 thoughts on “escaping

  1. Sometimes dark places allow us to explore dark emotions and you have done that here very well. It is interesting to note that at the end of the poem you admit giving yourself permission to wander in these places as if it is a choice you have made. Well done Jenny.

    • Dark like other emotions are necessary. I know that I don’t go through my life picking daisies and buttercups, the wind blowing through my hair and singing, therefore I grant myself permission to be locked in ‘the dark’ if I deem it necessary. Thank you Michael, maybe tomorrow my writing will change, tonight ..ech it is what it is 🙂

  2. fall beneath a thousand stones
    I wouldn’t feel a thing
    my fragile bones won’t crush

    let hands go clockwise
    when cold winds blow themselves
    to sleep

    ‘my muse seems to be avoiding my company.’,
    oh i beg to differ dear poetess!

      • Glad to hear you can pull yourself out. 🙂
        The airport limo will pick me up Friday morning at 3:00 a.m. The flight leaves around 6:30 to Chicago with a five-hour wait for connecting flight. The butterflies are busy doing the jitterbug in my tummy.

      • Thank you and how excited you must be. I love heading to the Airport in the dark, just adds to the thrill of the journey about to begin. Safe flight and have a wonderful time, if I don’t get a chance to say before you go. 🙂 xx

  3. “fall beneath a thousand stones
    I wouldn’t feel a thing” I love this line! I picture myself dissolving painlessly and effortlessly through lovely shaped stones to escape whatever I’m wishing to get away from. It’s dark, but beautiful–your muse is right there tapping you on the shoulder! 🙂

    • Very good play on words anmol, thank you, breathing through fingers …what a beautiful line. I just wonder sometimes why we write as we do, but perhaps I should stop trying to analyse and just put it down, whether it makes sense to me or not 🙂

  4. 1000 stone might hurt a bit…but when you are numb i guess even that wont hurt
    we all have to find our own way out of the maze we find ourselves in
    and the ones we create….

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

