Dancing Queen – Havin’ a Chat

[youtube.com/watch?v=FIMd5KFG1vQ]

Back in my day, I danced. Not ballroom or belly dancing (though I probably had the belly to do that) but that’s a visual you don’t need.

I loved dancing, I still do. Sadly, I don’t have the opportunity to strut myself on the dance floor much these days unless I’m at a wedding or a party (or in the privacy of my own home)… you know the ‘dance like no one’s watching‘ thing.

Back when I was younger, quite some moons ago, my dancing career began dressed in a tutu and parading in front of mum and pop. I then did ballet for a short while, but for reasons unbeknown to me, I didn’t continue.

As a teenager, I went through the ceremonial placing of the handbag on the dance floor, when I went out with my girlfriends to pubs, while us girls formed a circle around said handbags to shake our booty. Back then, yes live bands existed and didn’t we love them.

I’ve done the stomp, the twist, the pony, the swim, the lawn mower and most of the then ‘trendy’ dances that were popular.
I taught myself to waltz, when I danced with Pop and I even managed the polka and half hearted attempts of Zorba. Oh how I wished I had learned to Tango or Salsa.

I have shimmied, shook, swayed, sashayed, thrown my arms up in the air, put hands to the floor, breathing in the music. The beat, the ever glorious, exhilarating sounds. Letting my mind just go with the flow.

Now when I get up to dance, (it’s usually without Mr.S as he’s not a dancer) on most occasions I’m more subdued, as much as my inner beast wants to let fly, go crazy, hip swing, shake what my mumma gave me, I rein myself in.

I asked myself why, the answer came back, because when I do see women my age dancing like they were 17 again, I shudder slightly, that ‘mutton dressed up as lamb’ thing.  I know they are up there enjoying themselves, dancing like no ones watching. I know they are merely loving being in the moment, like free falling from an aircraft (though I wouldn’t love that moment). Yet, part of me thinks of the age and how silly someone my age can look ‘Dancing like an Egyptian’,  twisting,  hip hopping, or god forbid ‘twerking’ .

Or is it just me being too self conscious? Should I dance how I once did, regardless of how I look to others, knowing I have full health insurance? Pretend they aren’t laughing at me, not caring if they are? Or should I dance appropriately for a woman my age?  Mind you what is appropriate dancing for a 58 year old?  Oh and yes in 20 years time maybe I will be that lady in Aqua.:-)

39 thoughts on “Dancing Queen – Havin’ a Chat

  1. yes, and yes! life is short! i am the same. while i am a horrible dancer, i am nothing if not enthusiastic. my daughters have been horrified by it and that’s all the encouragement i need to continue. )

  2. I understand the ‘everyone’s looking at the old person dancing’ notion but you dance as you respond to the music, if its enjoyable then go for it. At a recent mate’s 60t birthday party he chose a whole heap of music from ‘our’ generation. we had a great time, we knew all the words to songs from 40 years ago, we didn’t care about what others might have felt we just let it all hang out as we once did. I hve to admit there was a touch of hanging out over our belts but hey, we care. Good post Jenny and yes I think I could well see you the lady in aqua in 20 years.

  3. I think that you should dance if you would like to, and not worry about how you appear to others. As long as you don’t have your whatever hanging out, there’s no reason for you not to. Enjoy your life! 🙂 Btw, I think you’re fabulous looking, and you’re probably a pretty good dancer, too.

    • Oh no hun, I leave it all tucked in 🙂 thank you, yes I think I shall when I get the chance again. You have made me blush this morning, how very sweet of you to say that, thank you so much ~ hugs and xxx

  4. It’s like that oft quoted expression “dance like there is no tomorrow”. Believe it, do it if that’s what the music is telling you. As for dancing, I also used to love it when younger and have a hubby who doesn’t. It’s why Zumba was invented, the most legal fun you can have on a dance floor. And here ‘s a secret: it also counts as exercise. Win, win, salsa, Cha Cha and shimmy. Also watch for my A post in the Challenge it’s right on this topic 🙂

  5. http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/dancing-in-my-head/
    !5yrs ago the first time I broke my back I had spent the night before at the works Christmas do dancing to dancing Queen….. the second time I broke my back four years ago actually making a really job of it I had been out the night before at the same work’s do dancing to Dancing Queen. Do you see a pattern , I do not listen to Dancing Queen anymore! 😉 Loved your post really did!! xxxx

  6. Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a feck. 🙂 I can’t help dancing. If I hear music I’m on it. And I don’t care if someone doesn’t like it. I dance with the kids in school round the gym hall, dance in the living room, dance wherever the mood takes. It’s just so compelling. I can’t not.
    Hubby doesn’t like dancing particularly but if we’re on a night out he has to suck it up. If he’d been into it I would love to have learned Latin American dances. But not knowing doesn’t stop me. Go for it I say! 🙂 x

  7. chuckle & snort at your comment, I know it is compelling. How wonderful to do Latin American dancing though – I have visuals in my head as I write with Antonio 🙂 Thank you for reading lovely and I think the music is about to be put on LOUD! 😆

  8. Loved this post . . . a couple of weeks ago, in our kitchen and to the delight and chuckles of our little five year old friend, we (husband and I) ‘Rock and Rolled’ to the sound of Col Joye. Knees very sore for the following week . . . but had such a good time . . . thanks Jenny. Heather

  9. You dance, girl. Sod appropriateness! By the by I would love to salsa. Mr X and I tried free classes in the city last July. It was hard! I’ll email you the details 🙂

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

