Could I

533586_353832411333605_1500146272_n

I’ll chase thee ‘cross moors, blanketed in frozen tips
where hooves gallop, perforating the ground and
foxes under bracken hedge lay in hiding
from the hounds

let me touch your fragile fingers that play the ivories
with such strength on Sunday summer afternoons to the
ladies, eager for your hand, who swoon and blush behind
painted fans

If I were to be the one that gives first kiss on lips
that have not felt a lovers passion, I would love you
as I have done from afar, courting you in dreams
between cold sheets

copyright JMTacken 7/4/2014

29 thoughts on “Could I

  1. I got the sense of longing within these lines Jenny, if only, sort of thing, a wondering lust for what you could not/cannot have. Great that you evoked such a reaction in me. Well done.

  2. Ah! Reminded me a bit of Catherine of Northanger Abbey.
    Wonderful… there is a gentle flow to it which is endearing and the longing is beautifully represented in your words. πŸ™‚

  3. nice…another great piece…really you create a nice sense of longing in this for something that feels quite forbidden….ha…it is delectible though jenny….serious props on the quality of this one as well….

  4. I don’t know what ‘style’ this is Jen….but I love it. And this felt so dreamy….longing…..

    You are brilliant with words and emotions. I am always left feeling something after I read your work. πŸ™‚ Thank you!

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

