Gastronomic gorging

Last night Mr.S and I went out for a farewell dinner for one of his work colleagues, who has retired..lucky so and so she is.

We decided on a banquet, normally we order a few dishes and just share, but as there were 12 of us, we thought it easier on the kitchen for all of us to choose the banquet menu.

Let the fun begin….

1. Sesame prawn toast
Sip of red wine
2. San choy bow
Sip of red
3. Seafood and bean curd soup
Sip of red
4. Duck pancake
Sip of red
5. Platter of roast pork, BBQ pork, roast duck, BBQ duck
Sip of red
6. Platter of roast chicken, BBQ chicken, chinese sausage
Sip of red
7. Platter of shredded duck special fried rice
Sip of water
8. Platter of garlic prawns and veg
Sip of water
9. Salt and pepper calamari
Sip of water
10.Deep fried pineapple and ice cream
Glugs of water

Home with an abundance of moaning and groaning of “I’m so full”.

Do I normally eat this amount of food for my nightly dinner…NO. So why on earth do we (ok me) sit down to this amount of food and devour it with gusto, knowing that a restless nights sleep will follow.

Needless to say I am not going on the scales for a few days…

28 thoughts on “Gastronomic gorging

  1. you were wise to include the sips of red in between each taste, according to my food math, i think it evens everything out and you can call it even. all worth it )

  2. Oh my! I think that meal would be my caloric intake for the week! However, you are absolutely lovely and in shape, so I’m sure it caused you no harm. Nothing a few walks won’t cure! It does feel suffocating to be overly full though, doesn’t it? I hope you have a lovely weekend!! 🙂 xx

  3. It was a grand feast and I think that the aftermath is always sad, since the belly does hurt and sometimes the head does, too! I loved Beth’s idea, drinking red wine is supposed to be anti-cancer and should follow to be ‘anti-caloric,’ too! Jen, I would have eaten all that you did, too! No worries about the scale: Now Stop! Hugs!

  4. What a great feast, Jen! I haven’t done that for years (not since moving to the country where we now have to drive to a restaurant instead of walking because we lived so close to the city!) Drawbacks of country life 😀

  5. You had space for pudding?! This sounds like a good night out, but it was the glugs of water that I think caused the problem – there just wasn’t room for them. I’m the same given the opportunity for Chinese or Indian – I go a little wild and avoid the scales. With all those different flavours to try, there’s just no other option.

    • Lol it was a good night and I’m glad I’m not the only one and yes it was the water..I’m sure of it. 😉 the food is too irresistible I’m afraid and I’m still avoiding the damn scales! 😉

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

