Havin a chat – Part 3 Bums and Tums

Are you ready? Of course you are ~ its Part 3!

Thank you to those who have read 1 & 2 and for your honesty and sense of humour.

Again I lay myself bare, or possibly not as I would all like you to get through your day without feeling queezy.

So as you may recall boys and girls we are talking bums and tums.

I did have for many years a tummy bulge, but not where one would think. My bulge was more on the top part of my tummy, around my ribs. I remember as a self conscious teenager always folding my arms in front of me. Around 20 years ago I decided I wanted a flat tummy, by hook or by crook and as I have written previously (In a really early post) I had a tummy tuck. I can go into all the details of how it went, if anyone is REALLY interested, but it may make you 😴😴 let’s just say it worked for many years, I wore tighter skirts and pants, without having to wear looser tops to cover and my skin didn’t squeeze up and over like a tube of toothpaste.

Sadly over the last few years, even though I was a gym junkie for 3 of those years going 6 times per week, I’ve been slack. We all get slack and as a result my tummy now is.

As with the legs, the skin is losing its tone, firmness and looking decidedly more floppy. 😩

Now as far as the bum is concerned, the dint that I had on my right cheek (that I mentioned in # 2) was ‘fixed’ during the tummy tuck, by flipping me over (sooo happy I wasn’t awake for this process) and filling it, again I could go into details of how but again😴😴 and because I still walk, I guess my derriΓ¨re is reasonable for my age, in fact many say I don’t have one, but jeans cover a multitude of sins.

Speaking of jeans, half the battle to disguise your battle of the bulge is in the fit. Too low the toothpaste sits on the top, mid waist, you’re squashing the toothpaste in half, high rise well the toothpaste is now under your boobs. 😟

So thanks for reading and your next instalment will be hands and arms, leaving of course the best till last the neck and face!

33 thoughts on “Havin a chat – Part 3 Bums and Tums

  1. Very entertaining Jen, we all have a bum and a tum and like you say at our age they tend to develop a mind of their own. No amount of tucking, sucking it in or squishing them seems to make the slightest impression on either.

  2. Since I had my daughter my lower abs have required more work. My daughter was quite a large baby! It took a while to get back my strength. Still I felt that my abs didn’t look right. So I started working the transverse abdominus more, it is basically a girdle of muscle that holds the squish in and that has really helped! Still whenever I put on weight I get that lower ab pouch which I didn’t have problems with before. I have a modest bum but I have been building it up with some success, I like curves =) You didn’t mention this but one of my self-conscious areas is my back, I have kyphosis and I do a lot of postural exercises it is improving but if I get too stressed, tired, or sick it can be hard to maintain and I get that damn hump.

    • You sound quite a fit woman, more than I. When I was younger as I said I went pretty hard at it, now I lack enthusiasm for more than a walk sadly. A modest bum sounds just about right to me. No I forgot about my back, apart from a few age skins spots etc, physically I think it’s ok, though I’m in great pain as I write, so perhaps off to a physiotherapist tomorrow if I can. I hope your back goes ok. You sound determined and strong enough to continue your exercises and that’s a good thing 😊

      • At the moment not so much, a bit pudgy. I had a surgery mid August and could not exercise for 6 weeks save for a bit of walking and some light yoga toward the end. After that I got hit with a cold and then a terrible flu. So I have only just been getting my routine back. I gain weight extremely easily due to thyroid issues so for me it is a battle. It is important to me though and I enjoy it very much.

      • But you have will power and determination and that’s half the battle. I gain weight easily too, I just have to,look at food and it’s getting worse. It’s is what it is. I wish you well after your surgery.

  3. You know, Jen, my aim is just to slow this process as much as possible and then accept where that takes me. What can we do but look our best at each age? Health from the inside out is what I hope will keep these devils at bay, but who knows? You look great to me! Thanks for all this candour and humour. I need them both right about now. πŸ˜€

    • Hugs Beth, that’s all we can do is do what we can and accept. Thank you for the compliment , how sweet are you πŸ˜€ I’m glad your finding it humourless as this is my intent, to make light of it, otherwise they’d be tears lol. I hope you get into a better place and I’m glad I am helping. 😊

  4. I am late to the tums and bums. Pardon me, Jen. β™‘ Not sure why but I missed this enlightened post.
    We are allowed to do “whatever it takes” to get the body somewhat how it used to look. When I took on losing weight that had been gained in my 40’s (I blame menopause, Jen!) I found butt crunches and arm weights helped to build muscle tone, along with speed walking. Your 6 days a week really is a lot of effort. I would fall over with such efforts! My brother who is a professor and runner said to aim for 15 minute miles so 3 should take 45 minutes. I tried this, with a friend, somehow we talked and walked this fast.
    My diet has less carbs, more greens did the trick.
    Jen, sadly I lost my bum. I lost my boobs, they are “kiwis,” instead of coconuts. I have used this line and made women laugh while men are not too appreciative of such details. πŸ™‚ I am trying to envision my future rich man financing new breasts, extra padding on behind and removing blue veins.
    Hmmm. . . If not, then maybe a man with poor eyesight and a sense of humor will work!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ xo

    • You didn’t miss tums and bums so all good ❀️ Yes menopause does put on the weight, another cross us females bare. 😩 I lie on the couch admittedly with a sore back, but I’m exhausted reading of your butt crunches and arm weights ugh! I have never been a runner, I think this is inbuilt in you, I’m a walker and slow shuffler lol. Good girl watching your carbs, I’m a lollie nut and eat too many sweets which is not helping my flabby bits. When I read your kiwis v coconuts this afternoon I laughed out loud. I CAN relate! BIT when I read your last line I lost it!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜Ž love ‘ya xx

  5. The tummy can be a problem – especially for me as I have ‘lucky legs’ (I’m sure you know what that means, Jen. If not, I’ll explain) So if my tummy is at all bloated, people think I’m pregnant! πŸ˜‰

  6. So, if your 8 year old daughter tells you that you don’t have a cute bum, (mental note, don’t let wee ones see you in your underwear), that’s bad?
    For some reason that no one can explain to me, I hit menopause last year and lost two stone. Now back at the weight I was when I got married 28 years ago.
    But, as little voices will remind, things ain’t where they used to be. 😦
    I love my yoga and it does tighten things up a bit. For the rest, I’d need traction, a scalpel, a needle and some thread!

    • I remember catching mum in the shower a couple of times when I was a teenager and saying to myself, I won’t get flabby arms, I won’t have a tummy or saggy bum…. Won’t doesn’t really work! Wow you’re the only woman I know who has lost weight through menopause, well done you! Good girl for doing yoga too and yes u less we subject ourselves to the dreaded knife, it is what it is. We just have to stop listening to those pesky voices πŸ˜’

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

