Home

image

Horses wearily pull mud washed wheels
Splintered rough across sand and rocky plains
Through fields of lush green with promises of home
That stretch far beyond the eye can see
They trail for months these covered wagons
No comfort borne to women folk whose sun glowed faces
Peek demurely under bonnets that once were vibrant
They age beyond their years milk drop cheeks now ruddy
Hitching heavy skirts of ragged hems that grace the tips
Of leather boots filled with dust from sepia sandstorms that
Stir the tumbleweeds and weight the eyelashes of beast and man
Their journey long and arduous they’ll ride the trail
From the rising of golden sun till the stars so thick
They could sweep them with their arms

39 thoughts on “Home

    • Bjorn how lovely to see you. I’ve only begun writing again, after some time. Thank you (& forgive my ignorance but I had no idea what ekphrastic meant) however now I do 😊 Appreciate you popping in.

  1. I read twice to be sure that my fingers were not trapped under the wagons wheels. Because that would be more aphoristic rather than ekphrastic.

    would hurt too. πŸ™‚
    There needs to be a giggling emoticon. πŸ˜†

  2. Jen, lovely symbolic and meaningful words to be treasured and felt deeply.
    Those milk drop faces with clear eyes and innocence in the women wears me out just thinking how aged they would become.
    I am sure the men got into more than they bargained for, too.
    Sweeping dirt floors, dust storms leaving silt on all surfaces. I read they put their plates upside down just so they wouldn’t have to drag themselves out to the well to wash the plates again. You told it with your heart and soul. I love β™‘ your emotions in all your writing. πŸ™‚

    • They also had to grow up quickly, marrying early, having children, when most where children themselves. Give me a washing machine and dishwasher, I couldn’t have coped, but then again, not knowing any different I wouldn’t have had a choice. Thank you so very much, lovely, that means a lot ❀️❀️

      • Oh, I love my life now. We have conveniences we take for granted. Can you imagine there are still people using rivers to wash clothes in and other ways of handling everyday life? I love my refrigerator β™‘ and my car, Jen!! πŸ™‚ Have a super weekend, love you! xoxo

      • Oh, my goodness! I almost forgot indoor plumbing and toilets (and hot showers. . . Ooh, it feels good and takes the aches away, too. Jen, just checking in to make sure your weekend went well, dear. xo

  3. I can’t even imagine that life: heat, dust, bandits and whatnot, cooking chores and washing up, crying babies and the wheels just keep on turning… Not a good life at all, but lovely writing, Jen. ❀ ❀

  4. Nice piece Jenny and so evocative. We are rather partial to ekphrastic writing in Ballarat…did a series of ekphrastic workshops and published a Poetry Pathways book earlier this year. You would love it, will let you know if we do it again next year.

    • Thank you Heather. Sounds interesting. As you may have seen by my comment, I had to admit I hadn’t heard of ekphrastic before. Does sound like an interesting workshop, as I feel much of my writing is using this form.

  5. That’s the second time I’ve had to look up ekphrastic – obviously didn’t stick the first time. But I think that might now be part of your vocab as your poem definitely fits the bill. So rich and vibrant in description. Class. πŸ™‚ x

    • I had to look it up, so many words that I know nothing about. Sad really, then again there are many words! Thank you I think I may well be an ekphrastic writer. Bless your cotton socks lovely – thank you. ❀️ x

  6. I love this, Jen. It’s awesome being taken from the large to the small (from the open fields to the weight of the eyelashes). This writing just took my brain on the biggest visual workout it’s had all month! Fantastic πŸ˜€

  7. Hello darling, lovely that you are writing so beautifully. Took me back to a simpler time. A book I read, a vividly imaginative place that made me thankful for all the comforts I have and yet a tiny peak of curiosity for what life was then. Here you are putting those thoughts into words. Treacherous journeying did not stop them from reaching their destination. Difficult, exhausting but so very stunning. I love the sun glowed faces that peek demurely under bonnets..

    wordpress is not sending me any of your posts and I’ve had to do a search. You’ve got to love technology eh.
    xxx

    • Hello my sweetheart. I’m trying at least, I’m glad it took you back. A writers intention to take their reader inside their mind, to feel what they feel. Thank you for reading and liking that line (one of my faves too) 😊 How very dare WordPress! Maybe unfollow and follow,again? That works for me..sometimes. Hugs xxx

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

