Steps

Ride a white horse
Between the blackened coals
Who shies from burning fires
Strength to ride alone
Hooves that strike split cobblestones
That hit the charcoaled walls
Ride a white horse
With a mane full and long
Whose scared of sudden noises
Calmed only by your voice
Into a sky that gives no light
Let thoughts spear through the dark
For they are quick to wander
In surrounds cloudless and grey
Ride the white horse proudly
When blackened rain begins to fall
For she’s your hope to freedom
Your chance to get away

image

I’m not sure where this came from, or why.

16 thoughts on “Steps

  1. Some things come out like this. From somewhere, maybe deep inside or far outside, but it comes out like this. And this is how, sometimes, we end up writing a piece we feel contended with.

  2. it came from within and galloped it’s way right out to the page and i love to let the words take over sometimes as you have done here with this lovely poem.

  3. Such depth my lovely, it has these beautiful elements of magical realism. I’m reading a book on Egyptian mythology where the main character has transformed into a Sphinx and finds herself traveling between time and space on Nebu her golden horse. Your words speak to the words in my book. I love when you write like this.
    Hope you are well.. I am recovering from an awful flu.
    xoxo

    • I am so sorry about your flu ☹️ I’m glad that my words spoke to you, or what you are reading. Sometimes I just have to let it go and let them fall where they may. Look after yourself sweety. xxxx❤️

  4. Jen, this poem is lovely to read and calming in its emotions. I like to hear about horses or other animals who are part of us, as we are part of them. Horse’s eyes are soulful and wise, this one which you became one with is a treasured companion. You were rhyming and rhythmic like the pace or gallop of the horse entered your thoughts.
    Hoping this year will be a blessing to us all, especially thinking of your parents and daughters, as well as you and Mr. S.
    My Italian guy (Calisto) stepped up his “pace” over my November birthday and then Christmas. He bought me an amazing art set and beautiful portfolio to carry around my drawings and my recent watercolor. He bought a First Christmas ornament and wrote “for the first of many to come.” We have gone through much, all who live life fully, do. Take care and hugs! xo

    • As I wrote I was riding, in my imagination, hence the rhythm, so thank you. I hope it’s a blessing too and thank you for thinking of my family. I’m glad things are going well with Calisto, you have done well, portfolios aren’t cheap. That is so sweet about the ornament and what he wrote. Sounds like a special relationship and I’m so happy for you. Yes, we have gone through so much and much more to come this year. Thank you for reading, I just can’t manage to write much of anything lately and I know I’ve been so remiss in reading others posts. Take care and hugs back to you Robin. xxoo

  5. So lovely, Jen.

    Happy New Year to you and your family.

    I am also happy to see the last of 2016 and have great hopes for 2017 being a better year in many respects.

    Much love to you. ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Thank you Beth, yes I am well pleased that 2016 is over, though I feel that this year will bring its own struggles with Pop, but cross that bridge…
      Much love to you and your family and thank you for your kindness throughout the year.
      ❤️❤️❤️

  6. well the pale horse IS one of the 4 of the Apocalypse … but hopefully that’s not the origin of this.

    and yes, 2016 can kiss my arse ~

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.

