Death Tree

I walk
Along the path where wheels are spun and
Feet tread
The morning hot, I am glad for blankets of
Cloud that hide the sun
Leaves scattered like splinters against the cement and
Like a child I step on them to hear their noise
A tree stands tall though dry
She is bound towards her base with plastic wrap
Here she holds like a mother of her young
Colourless flowers of plastic
In memory of a soul
Beside the highway as lives drive past
Someone had lost theirs
She is not dry for lack of water but
From sheding all her tears

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Death Tree

  1. Dearest Jen, when I drive past such places I do two things. 1. I slow down. 2. I say a silent prayer. This was such a special tribute to life, children and parents, too. This is why you found your place in the world, passing wisdom and love around. ♡♡♡♡♡♡♡
    Amen.

    • Thank you so much and for offering a silent prayer to those who lost their lives. Our local councils at first weren’t happy about placing memorials such as these, but now they leave them. One place where I used to live even has a small tombstone in the nature strip. It is important for not only the families but as a reminder to those on the roads, that death can happen, to drive carefully. Hugs for your kind words. ❤️❤️

    • Thank you so much darling, a constant reminder to those who drive to be careful. I’m sure if every family placed a tribute to their loved ones who passed from car accidents, there would be many more colourless flowers along our roads. Hugs. ❤️❤️

  2. I used to see these a lot in South America. Saying a silent prayer as Robin does is such a good idea. I always seem to say, automatically and silently, I am so sorry. Thank you for this post — such an eloquent reminder to think of those who have passed, with love.

You have spent the time popping in - Please don't waste it - share a comment on what you have read.